Guestbook, reviews & media

Recommended by The Telegraph (Travel section)

“Long weekends don’t get any better than this.” Oxford Mail

Flear Farm Guestbook

Hi Barney and Camilla,

 
I’ve been meaning to thank you so much for hosting us for such a wonderful trip. Flear really surpassed all of our expectations and gave us the best week of our summer.  
 
We found you along with **** in Cornwall and **** Cottages in Wales. After staying in all three in the last six months, we really had the best time at Flear. While all three similarly marketed cottage clusters were lovely, at Flear we felt so warmly welcomed, the cottage was perfection, the facilities were all perfect for us and for the kids, and we found so much to explore in the area. 
Many thanks again. We’d love to visit again soon!
 
Kind regards, Emily :)) (8th September 2016)

Thank you so much for the stay it was really lovely. Will add note on FB

Charlie Clements (8th September 2016)

Hi Barney & Camilla.

We had a wonderful stay with you this week in Cartwheel. It really was fabulous and the children loved every second of it. Thanks for all your efforts too! Quick question, what pillows were in our bed in the cottage? I would like to get some for home, they were so comfy!
Thanks, Jo x (3rd September 2016)
Dear Barney & Camilla
We had a lovely time, as always.
Just collected the toys, so kind of you to post.
Enjoy this great weather, September looks good. Keep that lawn watered 🙂
Have a great year.
Mark (1st September 2016)
Many thanks for a very enjoyable and restful holiday at Flear Farm. We had a great time and really appreciated your attention to detail. We look forward to staying with you again.
Best regards,
Lisa (30th August 2016)

My husband and I brought our four and two year olds here for a week in March. We knew the area well, and had visited several times before but Flear Farm gave our visit a completely different dimension and our girls absolutely loved it.

The cottage was seriously well equipped and really comfortable, the swimming pool, hot tub and steam room were excellent, the grounds, ponies, walks and play area were outstanding. And the play barn was brilliantly equipped with trampolene, wheelie toys, swings, climbing frames for the girls, and table tennis, pool and even the latest James Bond DVD for us.

It is amazing and the owners Barney and Camilla could not have been more welcoming or attentive without crowding us.

The location and local area is exceptional, but for people with young children (and indeed those without), this really is a fabulous place to stay. Heartily recommended and we hope to be back!

Sarah, Rob, Isabel and Anna

Stayed March 2016, travelled with family

 

Dear Barnaby and Camilla,

WOW!! What a wonderful weekend we have just spent with you. The family email system is red hot with everyone so enthusiastic about our stay. You can be justly proud of your excellent complex. The house is magnificent and the kids and adults enjoyed the play barn and swimming complex. Thank you for your warm Devon welcome and your concern for our well being particularly on Friday night when we had to “guide” the late arrivals home.

Kindest Regards,

Gordon 10th November 2015

Hi There
We were up early with the girls so I cracked on with the packing and found we were loaded by 8am (!). A quick play in the playbarn and a very windy walk at Milton Sands and we hit the M5.
Thank you so much for such an amazing stay. We had a wonderful time. Flear Farm is truly fabulous and I cannot wait to return. It’s a beautiful setting and exceptional facilities, all brought together by your & Camilla’s warm welcome.
We thoroughly enjoyed the fireworks, what a great recommendation. Mia loves robots so she was thoroughly chuffed with it all.
Thank you thank you thank you. We’ll be back soon.
Warm wishes
Katie, Andrew & the girls x 11 November 2015.
Dear Barney & Camilla
I’ve been meaning to email to thank you for a truly enjoyable and relaxing holiday. We all had a wonderful time and Ellen & Bobby are already asking when we can return to play in the barn! Once we have term dates for next Autumn half term confirmed, I’ll be in touch to rebook a week in Quarry. Flear is very special!
Tania 9th November 2015

 

To Barney and Camilla

We had the most fantastic time, you have a wonderful place, something for everyone even the dogs!!
It really made my “big” birthday very special and created some wonderful memories for us all to treasure
We are already looking forward to next year!!
Kind regards
Julie 6th November 2015
Dear Barney & Camilla
We would just like to thank you for a wonderful weekend at Flear.  We used all the great facilities!
Thanks again.  We will be back!
Kind regards
Jane & All 21st September 2015

Hi Camilla and Barney,

We had to leave early this morning and didn’t get to say goodbye and thank you!

We had a wonderful holiday; the cottage and facilities were fantastic as always.

Thanks,
Fiona, Ali, George and Maeve 28th August 2015

Dear Barney and Camilla,

We had a such a superb weekend in the big house and wanted to write a sparkling review on your website but couldn’t see where to do it so here it is- perhaps you could cut and paste?

Thank you so much for making our family Christmas weekend in Flear House so wonderful.
The house is beautiful and with all the Christmas decorations and the stunning Christmas trees which you kindly provided, it was very special indeed.
This was our second visit to Flear Farm and I’m sure it’ll not be our last.
As always, the play barn, swimming pool, tennis courts, woodland walks etc were thoroughly enjoyed by all.

Merry Christmas to you and the boys

Zoe & Peter

16th December 2014
Dear Camilla and Barney
I speak for all the family when I say we had a fantastic time at Flear Farm.  We would like to thank you for creating such a wonderful home from home which suited every one of our family whose age group ranged from 18 months to 76 years.  Flear Farm is a credit to you both and we will be looking to return.
Kind regards
Anne and all those that came.
21 November 2014
Hi
Many thanks for a lovely holiday, we had a really wonderful time!. We will most certainly be back!
Best wishes,
Amber.
25 October 2014

Hello Barney & family,

Thank you very much again for a lovely stay & for sending back our belongings! Much appreciated. We’ve been telling everyone about Flear & how wonderful it is!

Sophie M,

24 Aug 2013

 

Hello Barney and Camilla,

We would like to thank you for an enjoyable holiday, the facilities and cottages were lovely and spotlessly clean. It made a pleasant change for there not to be a list of restrictions on times and places children were allowed to be, our two are missing the hot tub which was clearly the biggest treat for them.

All the best for the future,

Sharon and Mike P.

4 Sept 2013

 

Thanks again for a great holiday! Issy still talks about the ponies every time we buy carrots and she is always asking if we can go to the beach!

Hope everything is king really well for you all and Roo is enjoying nursery!

Best Regards

Paula, Simon and Issy

11 Nov 13

 

Dear Barney and Camilla, We just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay at Flear Farm at the weekend – Cartwheel Cottage was very comfortable, the setting lovely and the boys absolutely loved the Playbarn and swimming pool. It was just what we were hoping for to celebrate Nick’s birthday and we really felt relaxed afterwards – better than a spa weekend! (shame it all wears off too quickly on return!) It was lovely to visit the South Hams out of season and we would definitely like to come back… Thanks for making us feel so at home.

Many thanks

Frances, Nick, Joseph and Patrick

12 Dec 2013